Fiction to Film: Beautiful Creatures

Fiction to Film-01

beautiful-creatures-movie-poster

Alright, I’m super fail with this one. Why? I didn’t finish the book before watching the movie *sadface*. I didn’t realise that the book was so long and that I wasn’t going to get much of a chance to read it, so I had to go into the movie not knowing what would happen. I’m ashamed at myself BUT I still finished the book and really liked both the movie and the book!

There are quite a few differences between the book and movie. The biggest one that bothered me was there was NO Boo Radley! Poor Boo got left out. I love him so! Another difference is the ending was changed around quite a bit. It was more dramatic than the ending of the book, but I guess that was to add more excitement while watching. It’s okay though because then I was reading what I’d already watched. I was a bit disappointed that Amma wasn’t their housekeeper and that Marion wasn’t there because of it though, but it still worked out.

I think they picked great actors and actresses to play the characters in this movie. Jeremy Irons was wonderful, as usual. I like that they picked relatively unknowns to play Lena and Ethan, it’s always good to discover new people! Emmy Rossum was a great Ridley. But I have no complaints about any of the casting.

Overall, this was a pretty good film adaptation, in my opinion. I never felt lost, like I wasn’t in the loop with something. All of the important details are there, except for poor Boo and Marion. I will be reading on in the series and hope there will be more movies for it!

Did you see this one? What did you think?

7 thoughts on “Fiction to Film: Beautiful Creatures

  1. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (3) | A Glo-Worm Reads

  2. Awww, I know, I wish they had had Boo Radley in the movie, too! 😦 It seems like sometimes things like that just get forgotten about by the people making the movies (did you notice that in like the last 4 Harry Potter movies, Dumbledore didn’t have his half-moon spectacles anymore?! I digress.).

    If you continue reading the rest of the series, you’ll see some correlation between those and the way they did the ending of the movie. I was really disappointed that they just combined Marion’s role with Amma’s character, though. Marion was one of my favorite people in the series.

  3. I totally plan on reading this book before seeing the movie. Though I really hate it when they alter things so much from the book — like leaving certain characters out! Still, I’m quite interested in reading and watching this!

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

