A Glo-Worms Thoughts: Book Format, Does It Really Matter?

A GloWorms Thoughts Button-01

I know a lot of people who feel very strongly on the type of format that they read a book in. One of my friends is all about physical copies and has actually made me feel like I’m doing something wrong for reading on my Kobo. That my choice of using it makes me less of a reader. Is this right? Should I feel this way because I occasionally use an ereader?

What about the tons of books that I read as physical copies? What about those ones? I buy too many books. I like looking at them, it’s an addiction. Every so often I will open up my closet (the only safe place for my books from my very inquisitive toddler) and look at them. I touch them and pick them up, flipping through the pages.

On the other hand, I have a few friends who prefer ereading, for the convenience. It’s much easier to carry around an ereader. I completely agree with this and frequently take mine if we are travelling any distance. Once I forgot to take it when we went to visit family and it was the one time we got stuck there for the night because of an accident that made us have to turn around. What a terrible time that was. Luckily, I was able to borrow a book from my mother in law, but it wasn’t the same since I was using a crappy booklight that kept flickering and going out (reading in the room where my toddler was sleeping).

So I bought myself a Kobo Glo for Christmas and always take it with me now, just in case. Even if at the time I’m reading a physical book. You never know, I might finish my book and then where would I be?

Another benefit as a reviewer to having the Kobo is that I can read the egalleys. I feel it’s a win win for the publisher and I. They don’t have to pay for shipping and I get the book right away. I do love physical books as well though, I don’t forget about them as easily!

Then what about audiobooks? I know people who don’t consider these reading. I do. I mean, I’m still investing time to listen to the story, I can just get other things done at the same time. I’m a fairly new to the audiobook fanbase, but I’ll be staying for awhile. The last couple of nights I’ve been sitting at the table listening to a book while working at some puzzles, something I haven’t done in FOREVER because if I’m not reading I feel like I’m wasting time that I could be reading. There are too many books and I’ll never have enough time to get through them all! So this is my solution.

Back to the point, does it matter what you read a book in? Hardback, paperback, ebook, audiobook. I like them all. I don’t ย think that it makes the slightest difference how I read. Isn’t the main point that I’m reading? At the end of the day, there’s nothing better than picking up my book or Kobo and reading whatever it is I’m reading.

Occasionally, while creeping around on facebook, I will come across someone who hates reading. I get a pang of sadness every time I see it. They have no idea how much they are missing out! So I don’t think the issue is what format you are reading in, just that you ARE reading. There is nothing better than curling up with a book.

So what do you think? Does it matter? Or are you just happy to read?

12 thoughts on “A Glo-Worms Thoughts: Book Format, Does It Really Matter?

  1. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (3) | A Glo-Worm Reads

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (26) | Reading In Winter

  3. I think when it comes to reading, format DOESN’T matter, but I do have personal preferences. I love to buy books! I love having them on my shelves — especially beautiful hardcovers. But I don’t read those exclusively. I love having my eReader (mainly my iPad) because of the convenience. It’s great for travel! I also use audiobooks quite often — mostly in the car, or sometimes when I’m doing housework. When it comes down to it, though, I read a lot of physical books. I just love them! I don’t think you’re strange for only wanting to read on your Kobo — it’s great for one-handed reading, or reading on the go, and it’s so portable!

    • I love buying books as well..lol I might have a small preference of paperbacks over hardbacks though, BUT it depends on the book. If it’s a favourite like Harry Potter, hardbacks are a must. I have the Earth’s Children series in paperback and have read them so many times I might have to buy new copies because they’re about to fall apart. Audiobooks are great for when I need to get something else done so I keep reading. But I love my Kobo too!

  4. I definitely agree with you. The format doesn’t matter so much as a person’s connection and understanding of a story. Within schools there are plenty of issues where kids can read a book word for word without any issues, but don’t actually understand what they are reading. They can’t recall anything about the plot, characters, or story line and do not connect to the reading in any way. As long as you are trying to do these things, trying to understand and believe in the story that you are reading, I don’t see any issue. Each format has it’s own pros and cons, but it doesn’t make any one better than the other. I still only prefer to read physical books and I’d be lying if I said I never feel like reading on an e-reader would be a crime, but that’s only out of the fear I have that such books will cease to be. I have slowly come to terms though with the fact that it isn’t a bad thing, and the important thing is always the story itself. We easily forget that.

    • Exactly! I kind of dislike the way schools handle introducing kids to reading. It’s something they make you do, rather than make you love it. I know some of it has to do with their parents as well, but I found in school that there were a lot of people who really disliked reading because they felt they were forced to do it. I know it isn’t something everyone likes, but I always feel like they are missing out. But because they are forced into reading something they had no interest in, it has left a bad taste in their mouths for the entire thing.

      As for physical books being phased out. It’s something that could probably eventually happen. I think it would be a shame because I love having physical books. A lot of the time I will buy the physical book after reading the ebook, especially if I loved the book. I just need to have a copy of it to sit there to look at. However, if physical books were to be phased out, I don’t think it would be for a long time. I think there are a lot more people who prefer physical books over ebooks.

      Thanks for the comment and the follow ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I definitely agree with your comment about the lack of love for books within schools. It becomes such a chore that kids learn to associate it with school only and not for pleasure. That’s one of the reasons why I actually really support e-readers. I think it helps a lot of people who normally wouldn’t touch a book (because of their distaste with it from school) try it out. My boyfriend has just started listening to the audiobook for The Hobbit and has been really enjoying it, even though he doesn’t read. Too me just the fact that he’s getting the story in some way (other than just the movie) is a great thing.
        And yeah, I’m sure it’s possible books will phase out, I just don’t want to think about it! Eek!
        (And your welcome for the follow. I love blogs that encourage discussion. I know the focus is usually book reviews, but I want to talk! Enjoyed your post and look forward to more ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Yup. that’s exactly what schools do. I luckily had a great dad (well, when I was little and he still liked me) who read to me every night. And grandparents who always gifted me books. It made me enjoy reading and I pretty much have been hooked to it since I was 4. I have a 2 year old now who I try to read to a lot and she genuinely seems to love books, so far. Hopefully she’ll stay that way.

          I like audiobooks too, I think if more people listened to them, they would realize how great books are. I mean, someone is reading to you while you can do something else, how great is that? Maybe your husband will read a book or two after listening to one. My husband has a form of dyslexia, but still enjoys reading. He started out listening to audiobooks when he was younger and I’ve managed to get him to read a couple books in the seven years we’ve been together. lol

          I personally hope books aren’t phased out until long after I’m gone ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I wholeheartedly agree! I love to read paper books, and audiobooks, and the occasional ebook too! I don’t care the format, as long as I get to read the book!

    My only problem is ebooks is that all I have to read them on is my phone, which makes for a tiny reading surface. One time I was out of town and the Kindle app on my phone was all I had to read (I’d already finished the paper book I’d brought with me). What scared me initially was that there was no wifi — and hardly any signal — where I was staying, so it took me ages to access my books!

    Has that ever been a problem for you on your Kobo? I thought that ereaders were supposed to store books on your device (even my Kindle app supposedly does this), so I was surprised when it wouldn’t let me access any of them.

    • Nope, it never happens to me. Once my books are on my Kobo they are there and I don’t need an internet connection to read them ๐Ÿ™‚ The only problem I might have is that it may die, but it can use the same type of charger as my cell phone, so as long as I have that with me, I’m good to go!
      I have used the Kindle app on my phone to read a book before, I really dislike the back lighting, it hurts my eyes to read a backlit screen for too long..lol

      • Yeah, I really don’t like it either. People keep trying to convince me to get a tablet so I can read my books on it, but those have the same problem! I’ve been thinking about getting a Kindle for like a year now, but I just haven’t brought myself to do it. Maybe I’ll look into the Kobo. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • lol, maybe. I’ve heard the Kindle and Kobo are very similar. I use Kobo since it was a Canadian company. I would recommend an ereader if you dislike the backlighting, they are much easier to read on. They are getting fairly cheap as well!

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

